mayor and Councillors

Whitsunday Regional Council is led by a Mayor and six divisional Councillors, who are elected by eligible voters in each division for a four year term. 

Together, the Mayor and Councillors comprise the governing body of Whitsunday Regional Council and are required to discharge their roles in accordance with the Local Government Act 2009. The Mayor and Councillors represent the interests of the region’s residents and ratepayers and provide leadership and guidance to the community. Their responsibilities include directing and controlling the organisation’s business affairs, overseeing the allocation of the organisation’s finances and resources, and reviewing the performance of Council and its delivery of services. 
The incumbent Mayor and Councillors were sworn in on Wednesday 22 April 2020.

Cr Andrew Willcox

Phone: 4945 0206
Mobile: 0458 442 323
Map of Whitsunday Region
Register of Interest

Cr. Willcox - Mayor

Cr Jan Clifford
Councillor for Division 1
Mobile: 0412 721 969
Map of Division 1
Register of Interest

Cr. Clifford - Div 1

Cr Al Grundy
Councillor for Division 2
Mobile: 0417 588 248
Map of Division 2
Register of Interest
Cr. Grundy - Div 2

Cr John Collins
Deputy Mayor and Councillor for Division 3

Mobile: 0429 059 726
Map of Division 3
Register of Interest
Cr. Collins - Div 3

Cr Michelle Wright

Councillor for Division 4
Mobile: 0417 121 010
Map of Division 4 
Register of Interest

Cr. Wright - Div 4

Cr Gary Simpson
Councillor for Division 5

Mobile: 0439 631 272
Map of Division 5
Register of Interest

Cr. Simpson - Div 5

Cr Mike Brunker
Councillor for Division 6

Mobile: 0419 708 351
Map of Division 6
Register of Interest

Cr. Brunker - Div 6

Code of conduct

A mandatory and uniform Code of Conduct for Councillors provides a foundation for a fair and transparent complaints management system. The code outlines how behavioural standards align with the local government principles and assists all councillors in being aware of their obligations as elected representatives. Under the Code of Conduct, councillors must uphold the standards of behaviour as summarised in ‘the three Rs’ of Responsibility, Respect and Reputation.

The Code of Conduct and the associated obligations for councillors commenced on 3 December 2018 and on April 7 2020, the Minister for Local Government approved minor amendments to the Code. The Mayor and Councillors have each undertaken the Declaration of Office, declaring that they will act in accordance with the Code of Conduct, and Council resolved at its 24 June 2020 Ordinary Meeting to acknowledge the revised Code of Conduct for Councillors in Queensland.

Code of conduct for Councillors 
Councillor Conduct Register [PDF 117KB]
Councillor Conduct Investigation Policy [PDF 140KB]

Councillors Material Personal Interest and Conflict of Interest

COI and MPI Public Register [PDF 48KB]

Councillor Committees

Representation on Committees [PDF 184KB]
  1. P  1300 WRC QLD (1300 972 753)

    67 Herbert Street, Bowen
    Shop 23 Whitsunday Plaza, Cannonvale
    Cnr. Stanley and Conway Streets, Collinsville
    83 - 85 Main Street, Proserpine
  1. LINKS

    My Dashboard   |   Privacy   |   Disclaimer   |   Accessibility   |   Site Map   |   Right to Information

    Powered by CivicPlus from Redman Solutions

    © Copyright Whitsunday Council 2014